



The Mueller Memorial Medal

The Mueller Memorial Medal draws together the three names pre-eminent in early scientific exploration of East Gippsland, Mueller, Spencer and Howitt.

After Baron von Mueller's death, 1896, a committee from the Australian scientific societies, including the Royal Society of Victoria, chose this form of memorial for the famous botanist, using

money subscribed by his friends and admirers.

The beautiful bronze medal is awarded by the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science 'not more frequently than every second year, to the author of the most important contribution, or series of contributions, to natural knowledge, published originally within His Majesty's Dominions ... preference being given to work referring to Australia.'

The design for the medal was executed by Sir Baldwin Spencer. It shows von Mueller with an aeaeia spray in his hand, and on the obverse, a waratah. (Spencer's early sketch of the East Gippsland

waratah, 1889, is shown on page 76 of this Volume.)

The first award of the medal, 1904, was made to A. W. Howitt 'for his distinguished services as an ethnologist and geologist, and for his exploration in Australia.'